What The Pope Really Said About Kim Davis | ThinkProgress

via What The Pope Really Said About Kim Davis | ThinkProgress.

I read a quick headline about the Pope saying Conscientious Objection (CO) was a Human Right. I totally agree with that. However I couldn’t find an article that had any substance regarding that aspect of CO. All I could find was articles about Kim Davis. This is not surprising. As a country, we are incredibly militaristic. Since news media supports this ( a heinous dereliction of duty to me) one finds very little info about anything contradicting that tradition. So, once again, we get an issue that will sustain the drama and divert our eyes from the prize. So, I’ll be doing a more thorough cruise through the web to see what I can find. Certainly the traditional media will NOT be the place to look.

As to Kim Davis. I go back and forth about her right to deny licenses to gay couples wanting to get married. That is an issue for me, as for many others. I have never thought gay folks should ever be denied any right granted to others. Basic Human Rights once again and also my own personal belief and experience. What I have to resolve is the seeming paradox of gay folks asking for a religious right from the same institution(s) which have been instrumental for hundreds, if not thousands of years, in persecuting and killing, and scapegoating a whole class of Humans for whatever nefarious purposes they come up with.

In time, I hope to write more, and even perhaps, do my thinking out loud here in case any one happens to be interested.

Again, thanks for following! Whether it’s one or many, it gives me incentive to keep it going.

Sonorasam

this looks rather Catholic with the round globe in the center. Reminds me of the headpieces worn by ministers.

this looks rather Catholic with the round globe in the center. Reminds me of the headpieces worn by ministers.

Leave a Reply

