Saguaro vandalism in Tucson

Saguaros biding their time

Try as I might, these destructive activities just make no sense to me. Why?

I grew up in Tucson, 1975 – 2007. It was a place I fell in Love with, Love st first sight as it were! I became who I am, there. A huge part of that was hiking and camping, living out of the back of my old International Harvester in the foothills. Waking to doves cooing.

There are two Saguaro National Monuments in Tucson. One in the east in the
Rincon mountains. The other in the west, over the other side of the Tucson Mountains.

Though this is terrible, you can look out over the bajada and see the Saguaros on the march in the desert. We may see this as permanent, but their march through the desert attest to their patience. They have Time. All we can do it seems is fight time.

It’s a place I’ll always miss and crawl into when the world gets a bit out of kilter.

saguaro-in-bloom-1727

Leave a Reply

